Spring 2002
Volume 6 Number 3







Henry Bucher (’34B) was presented with the Vocational Service Award for Religion by the Sherman Rotary Club in Sherman, Texas. Bucher is chaplain at Austin College, also in Sherman.

Melvin L. Schaper (’48M) and his wife, while visiting Grenada, West Indies, where they had been missionaries for twelve years, were recognized by the prime minister and governor general for their outstanding service in the field of education. They were happy that “all seven of [their] children came to Grenada to witness the occasion there on February 7, 2001.” They are now retired, but stay active in God’s work.

On October 4, 2001, Benjamin L. Armstrong (’55U) received the Alumni Achievement Award from Stony Brook School in Stony Brook, New York, where he belongs to the Class of 1941. He is retired and lives in Danboro, Pennsylvania.

Stephen R. Weisz (’65B) received the National Faculty Award from Tusculum College’s Alumni Association in recognition of his 20 years of service as chaplain and professor of religious studies. Weisz still holds those positions and lives in Greeneville, Tennessee. 

Terence E. Fretheim (’67D) was honored with a Distinguished Service Award from Luther College, from which he is a 1956 graduate. He serves as the Elva B. Lovell Professor of Old Testament at Luther Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota.

J. W. Gregg Meister’s (’71B) company, Interlink Media, won a coveted Telly Award for the “You Can Always Call Response” video, produced for the Presbyterian Church (USA)’s Board of Pensions.

John B. Szymanski (’78M) was recognized by the New Jersey Catholic Historical Records Commission for “outstanding achievement in New Jersey Catholic History.” He is the author of Toward New Horizons: A History of the Catholic Community of Saint Thomas the Apostle Church, Old Bridge, New Jersey. The commission believes this work to be a model of what parish history can and should be. Szymanski has now begun work on a history of the Metuchen Diocese.

Lawrence Barriger (’81E) recently celebrated the 25th anniversary of his ordination to the priesthood. In honor of the occasion, Patriarch Bartholomew, the ecumenical patriarch of Constantinople, bestowed upon him the title of “Protopresbyter (first priest) of the Ecumenical Throne.” Metropolitan Nicholas of the American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese also added his blessing to the Barrigers’ 25th wedding anniversary.

Jana L. Childers (’82B) edited Birthing the Sermon: Women Preachers on the Creative Process, a volume that was awarded the Religious Communication Association’s 2001 Book of the Year award. She was elected interim dean of San Francisco Theological Seminary (SFTS) and vice president for academic affairs, and on January 1 she assumed those responsibilities. She has been at SFTS since 1985 as a professor in homiletics and speech communication.

David Jones (’82B) was named “Small Church Pastor of the Year” by Atlanta Presbytery in 2001, and the church he served, Jackson Presbyterian Church in Jackson, Georgia, was simultaneously named “Outstanding Small Church of the Year 2001.” Jones is now pastor of the First Presbyterian Church in Amagansett, New York.

The Council of Churches and Synagogues of Southern Connecticut named Gary A. Wilburn (’84P) “Clergy Person of the Year 2001” at their second annual Sphere of Faith Awards. The First Presbyterian Church of New Canaan, where Wilburn is pastor, has grown in many ways since his arrival in 1995.

John Kim-Chye Sim (’93M) is the recipient of many awards and honors, including listings in the Dictionary of International Biography, International Dictionary of Distinguished Leadership, Men of Achievement, America’s Registry of Outstanding Professionals, and several Who’s Who volumes, including: in America, in Religion, in the West, in the Mid-West, and among Asian Americans.