Spring 2001
Volume 5 Number 3

Bruce Metzger (’38B, ’39M), Collord Professor of New Testament Emeritus at PTS, received the Bible Translation and Utilization Award “in grateful recognition and appreciation for his faithful and visionary leadership in the field of biblical translation” at the November 2000 meeting of the General Assembly of the National Council of the Churches of Christ (NCCC) in the USA. For fifteen years he had served as convener of the NCCC Standard Bible Translation Committee that produced the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible, the first ecumenical edition of the Scriptures accepted by Protestant, Roman Catholic, and Eastern Orthodox churches.

Frank W. Penick (’49B, ’50M) was the recipient of the first Frank W. Penick Philanthropy Day Founder’s Award, which was established in his honor by the Louisville National Society of Fund-Raising Executives and FREML.

Carnegie Samuel Calian (’58B) was awarded Doctorem Honorus Causa by the University of Sibiu, Romania, in October 2000. Calian is the president of Pittsburgh Theological Seminary.

John M. Mulder (’70B), president and professor of historical theology at Louisville Presbyterian Theological Seminary, earned the Metroversity Award for Instructional Development for his course “Faith and Money,” cotaught with Dean Dianne Reistroffer. Competition for these awards is open to any full-time faculty member of a Metroversity institution and is judged by a panel of college professors from across the country. Mulder and Reistroffer were the recipients of the highest recognition among four awards. 

Paul B. Watt (’72B), professor of Asian studies at DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana, has been appointed as Paul B. Watt University Professor for 2001-2005. The award recognizes Watt’s sustained excellence in teaching, service, and scholarly and creative growth and accomplishment. He will receive a significant salary supplement and time and discretionary funds to pursue academically related projects over the term of the award. His scholarly work has been as an intellectual and cultural historian of religious movements in Japan.

Elisa C. Diller (’87B, ’96D) has been selected by the Corporation for National Service as one of twelve National Service Fellowship recipients for 2000-2001. Diller’s project will examine the use of capital among Delaware’s AmeriCorps and VISTA members and will discuss civic responsibility. Diller has served as the director of the First State Mentor Corps AmeriCorps program at the University of Delaware.

Denise Rogers (’92B) is a recipient of the “Woman of Courage Award” from the Montana Women’s Lobby Fund. She also won the “American Hero” award from the National Arthritis Association for her work to combat racism in Montana. Rogers is pastor and founder of St. Paul Community Church in Bozeman, Montana. The church is currently non-denominational but will become an African Methodist Episcopal church at the denomination’s 2001 annual conference. She is also the executive director of the Montana Hate Free Zone, an international human rights organization that uses the creative arts to promote peace regionally and globally. Her email address is unity1@mcn.net.

© Copyright 2001 Princeton Theological Seminary
The URL for this page is http://www.ptsem.edu/read/inspire/5.3/bow.htm
webmaster@ptsem.edu | last updated 05/20/01

In This Issue


A World of Students: Valuable Exchanges
Welcome Them in My Name
Fighting for Children and Parents


From the President's desk
Letters to the Editor
Outstanding in the Field
Class Notes
End Things
Student Life
On & Off Campus
Alumni/ae Update
Investing in Ministry
inSpire Staff
InSpire Archives