Summer/Fall  2000
Volume 5 Number 1


E. Fay Bennett (’55M) received the Alumni Achievement Award from the University of the Ozarks, fifty years after his graduation from the university.

Ronald Brockway (’72B) was awarded the Cultural Council of Indian River County’s Laurel Award for professionalism. Brockway is associate director of operations for the Center for the Arts in Vero Beach, Florida.

M. William Howard Jr. (’72B), president of New York Theological Seminary, accepted on behalf of the Board of Trustees of New York Theological Seminary the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations Award for Excellence for the year 2000, which included a grant of $150,000. Dr. Jonathan T. Howe, executive director for the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations, said, "Our trustees were impressed with Dr. Howard’s oustanding leadership in turning the seminary around both financially and administratively, while maintaining a high quality, rigorous program of practical theological education for students in a challenging inner-city environment."

Joan Martin (’76B), author of the recent book More Than Chains and Toil: A Christian Work Ethic of Enslaved Women (Westminster John Knox Press, 2000), was awarded an honorary degree at the 188th commencement of Hamilton College.

Raymond Meester (’78B) was awarded a twelve-week, $12,000 sabbatical grant from the Louisville Institute for researching ministry to the deaf, and deaf worship from a deaf cultural perspective. He is also involved in ministry to the deaf at Heritage Presbyterian Church in Lincoln, Nebraska, the church he serves.

Richard Minnich (’81B) was honored by the Kiwanis International Foundation. He was named Kiwanis Fellow for 1999 by his local chapter, and elected lieutenant governor for Division Three of the Utah-Idaho district.

Tzu-Yang Hwang (’86M) has been inducted into the 1000 Leaders of World Influence Hall of Fame for 2000. He has also been named to membership on the board of governors of the American Biographical Institute Research Association, which carries with it both the title of continental governor and membership in The International Governors Club.

Bettyann Mirota (’88E) was an honorable mention recipient of the Religious Education Excellence Award at the eighth annual NPCD National Directors of Religious Education Convocation in Baltimore in April. NPCD is a national professional membership association for parish catechetical leaders in the Roman Catholic Church.

Angelique Walker-Smith (’95P) was recognized for Distinction in Service to the Community by the Yale University Divinity School Board of Alumnal Affairs.


© Copyright 2000 Princeton Theological Seminary
The URL for this page is | last updated 09/28/00

In This Issue

InSpire Archives